Awards & Presentation Night

The culmination of the season is the annual Avalon Beach SLSC Presentation night.  This is an opportunity to celebrate the highlights of the season and to recognise various members for their outstanding contributions to both our Club and Surf Life Saving in general.  Presentations are also made to those who gained Surf Life Saving awards throughout the season. These include the Surf Rescue Certificate, Bronze, Silver and Gold Medallions, IRB Drivers and Crew, ARTC, Spinal, Training Officers etc.

Avalon Beach SLSC also presents awards in the following categories:
• The Max Watt Competitor of the Year
• The Chris Dethick Boatie of the Year
• The Steve Parkes Award for Training and Education
• The Warren Mitchell Award – IRB Person of the Year
• Ken Davidson Surfboard Rider of the Year
• Junior Member of the Year
• Rookie of the Year
• Patrol Member of the Year
• Patrol Captain of the Year
• Club Champions
• The President’s Award
• Norman Cook Award for the Most Outstanding Club Member of the Year


The final two awards are presented to members who have made outstanding contributions to the Club in any arena.  They are not necessarily members who patrol our beach but may be recognised for their dedication in the areas of Junior Activities, Surf Sports or Administration.  These two awards are recognised on honour boards in the Club House Hall of Champions.  Norman Cook was the mainstay of many of the activities at the Club in the 1950’s. He was one of our Club Patrons and the hall in the previous Surf Club building bore the name “The Norman Cook Memorial Hall”.


2020 Club Award recipients

The Norman Cook Most Outstanding Member of the Year
Col Campbell

President’s Award
Louise Lindop, Amanda (Gem) Lehman, Nick Sampson

The Steve Parkes Award for Achievement in Lifesaving Education
Dave Roberts

Patrol Captain of the Year
Xanthe Friend

Patrol Member of the Year
Steve Riley

Junior Member of the Year
Sophie Jones

Cadet of the Year
Tegan Scott

The Warren Mitchell IRB Award
Richard Cole

The Chris “Detho” Dethick – Boatie of the Year
Matthew Mayall

Max Watt Competitor/s of the Year
Nathan Wellings

The Ken Davidson Surf Board Riding Award
Grant Salmon (inaugural winner)

Rookie of the Year (Bronze this season)
Isla Pegler & Taylor Dickinson

Club Champions
Not held 2019/20 season

Club Award trophies are displayed in our Norman Cook Memorial Hall of Champions.  All unclaimed Certificates and Medallions will be held in the office for 12 months.  Contact our Administrator to arrange collection at [email protected]